Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

A Comb of Wishes

Audiobook

Set against the backdrop of Caribbean folklore, Lisa Stringfellow's spellbinding middle grade debut tells of a grieving girl and a vengeful mermaid and will enchant readers who loved Kacen Callender's Hurricane Child or Christian McKay Heidicker's Scary Stories for Young Foxes.

Ever since her mother's death, Kela feels every bit as broken as the shards of glass, known as "mermaid's tears," that sparkle on the Caribbean beaches of St. Rita. So when Kela and her friend Lissy stumble across an ancient-looking comb in a coral cave, with all she's already lost, Kela can't help but bring home her very own found treasure.

Far away, deep in the cold ocean, the mermaid Ophidia can feel that her comb has been taken. And despite her hatred of all humans, her magic requires that she make a bargain: the comb in exchange for a wish.

But what Kela wants most is for her mother to be alive. And a wish that big will exact an even bigger price...

Don't miss the novel that Newbery-winning author Kelly Barnhill calls "one of the most promising works of fiction in a long time"!


Expand title description text
Publisher: Quill Tree Books Edition: Unabridged

OverDrive Listen audiobook

  • ISBN: 9780063043466
  • File size: 159422 KB
  • Release date: February 8, 2022
  • Duration: 05:32:07

MP3 audiobook

  • ISBN: 9780063043466
  • File size: 159440 KB
  • Release date: February 8, 2022
  • Duration: 05:33:05
  • Number of parts: 5

Loading
Loading

Formats

OverDrive Listen audiobook
MP3 audiobook

Languages

English

Set against the backdrop of Caribbean folklore, Lisa Stringfellow's spellbinding middle grade debut tells of a grieving girl and a vengeful mermaid and will enchant readers who loved Kacen Callender's Hurricane Child or Christian McKay Heidicker's Scary Stories for Young Foxes.

Ever since her mother's death, Kela feels every bit as broken as the shards of glass, known as "mermaid's tears," that sparkle on the Caribbean beaches of St. Rita. So when Kela and her friend Lissy stumble across an ancient-looking comb in a coral cave, with all she's already lost, Kela can't help but bring home her very own found treasure.

Far away, deep in the cold ocean, the mermaid Ophidia can feel that her comb has been taken. And despite her hatred of all humans, her magic requires that she make a bargain: the comb in exchange for a wish.

But what Kela wants most is for her mother to be alive. And a wish that big will exact an even bigger price...

Don't miss the novel that Newbery-winning author Kelly Barnhill calls "one of the most promising works of fiction in a long time"!


Expand title description text