Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

Olive and the Backstage Ghost

Audiobook
A ghost story with a literary heart for fans of Neil Gaiman's Coraline and The Graveyard Book. Theater kids and ghost-story readers alike will find new meaning in the term stage fright.

All great theaters have their ghosts. . . .

After Olive Preiss freezes during a theater camp audition, she flees in despair. She finds herself at Maudeville, a beautiful old theater that she's never noticed before. She enters, goes onstage, and sings her song. "Thank you for that lovely audition, darling," comes a voice from the shadows. "I believe I have just the part for you."

Olive is thrilled to work with Maude Devore, the glamorous actress who owns the theater, and her eclectic cast of misfits. Yet gradually there are signs that Maudeville isn't exactly what it seems. Sometimes—just for a moment!—it feels wrong. As opening day approaches, Olive's doubts and fears grow. But no matter what, this show must go on . . . and on . . . and on. . . .
"Richly drawn . . . a haunting and ethereal tale." —Booklist, Starred Review

Expand title description text
Publisher: Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group Edition: Unabridged

OverDrive Listen audiobook

  • ISBN: 9781524721206
  • File size: 154234 KB
  • Release date: August 15, 2017
  • Duration: 05:21:19

MP3 audiobook

  • ISBN: 9781524721206
  • File size: 154256 KB
  • Release date: August 15, 2017
  • Duration: 05:23:20
  • Number of parts: 5

Formats

OverDrive Listen audiobook
MP3 audiobook

Languages

English

Levels

Lexile® Measure:800
Text Difficulty:3-4

A ghost story with a literary heart for fans of Neil Gaiman's Coraline and The Graveyard Book. Theater kids and ghost-story readers alike will find new meaning in the term stage fright.

All great theaters have their ghosts. . . .

After Olive Preiss freezes during a theater camp audition, she flees in despair. She finds herself at Maudeville, a beautiful old theater that she's never noticed before. She enters, goes onstage, and sings her song. "Thank you for that lovely audition, darling," comes a voice from the shadows. "I believe I have just the part for you."

Olive is thrilled to work with Maude Devore, the glamorous actress who owns the theater, and her eclectic cast of misfits. Yet gradually there are signs that Maudeville isn't exactly what it seems. Sometimes—just for a moment!—it feels wrong. As opening day approaches, Olive's doubts and fears grow. But no matter what, this show must go on . . . and on . . . and on. . . .
"Richly drawn . . . a haunting and ethereal tale." —Booklist, Starred Review

Expand title description text